Food Feature Friday: Gyro

Gyro- a meat sandwich consisting of tomatoes, onion, tzatziki sauce-all wrapped in pita bread. 

Gyros are a greek dish, served in restaurants and kitchens worldwide. Until a few weeks ago, this farm girl had never heard of such a thing.

For lunch one day, I ventured to Anthoninos, an Italian restaurant located on the Hill in St. Louis. My lunch companions quickly ordered Gyro sandwiches and hummus. I am a little embarrassed to admit I am a pretty picky eater. So the Gyro sandwich and hummus were out of my list of choices. I wasn’t in the mood for the typical pizza or pasta (my favorites-and Anthonios has AWESOME pizza), but who said I couldn’t eat just the Gyro meat? So, I tried a salad with Gyro meat. Slightly different from the sandwich contents, basic Gyro meat is beef, pork and lamb. Of those options, I chose lamb for my salad.

The texture of the meat and sweet taste blew my mind. Growing up on my farm, we ate a lot of beef, pork and chicken. Lamb was a foreign concept. Luckily it is no longer. I couldn’t get enough of my salad. It might have been the best leafy goodness I have consumed in a long time. In minutes, I had eaten all on my plate.

That’s why I had to share this word. Mind you, I haven’t actually ate the sandwich. But the meat is where it’s at as far as I am concerned. Definitely Agri-Word worthy. Will I be brave enough to try the Gyro next?

I will have to think about that one. Happy Friday everyone!

One thought on “Food Feature Friday: Gyro

Leave a Reply

